You'll embark on a demanding multi-day trek around the holy mountain, which is said to bring good luck to whoever completes it, then join pilgrims and celebrate the renewal of the Tarboche flagpole. Explore Lhasa and experience unparalleled vistas of Mt Everest at its base camp. Full of cultural treasures, remarkable Buddhist monasteries, and the colourful markets of Kathmandu, this adventure truly is a once-in-a-lifetime experience.



Day 1 Beijing
Arrive at any time.

Day 2 Beijing
Visit the Great Wall of China with time in the late afternoon to explore Beijing.

Days 3–4 Beijing/Lhasa
Take a guided tour of the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square before boarding the Trans-Tibetan Railway to Lhasa.

Day 5 Lhasa
Arrive in Lhasa in the evening. Take an orientation walk around Barkhor Square and start acclimatizing to the altitude.

Days 6–8 Lhasa
Over three days, explore all Lhasa and the surrounding areas have to offer. Visit Barkhor Square, the Jokhang Temple, the Potala Palace, and either Sera or Drepung Monastery. With free time, opt to visit the local markets or find a teahouse to spend a few hours relaxing.

Day 9 Lhasa/Gyantse
Drive to Gyantse along the beautiful Yamdrok Tso lake.

Day 10 Gyantse/Sakya
Visit the Pelkor Chode Monastery, Gyantse Kumbum, and Sakya Gompa.

Day 11 Sakya/Rongbuk
Travel to Rongbuk Monastery, the highest in the world.

Day 12 Rongbuk/Saga
Hike to Everest Base Camp in the morning. Later, make the scenic journey to Saga.

Day 13 Saga/Tarchan
Take another travel day to reach Darchen, home base for the Kora Trek. Follow the road across grasslands for the first spectacular view of Mt Kailash and Lake Manasarovar.

Day 14 Tarchan/Kailas Range
Begin the kora from Darchen. Staying in basic guesthouses, the full kora takes 2.5 days to complete. The experience and scenery are well worth the effort.

Day 15 Kailas Range
Continue on the kora for the toughest stretch of the hike.

Day 16 Kailas Range
After completing the kora, relax in Chiu Gompa for the evening.

Day 17 Kailas Range/Saga
Experience the Saga Dawa Festival. Over 1,000 years old, this festival celebrates the day Lord Buddha Sakyamuni was born, achieved enlightenment, and passed away. Afterwards, drive south across the grasslands to Saga.

Day 18 Saga/Shigatse
Travel from Saga to Shigatse.

Day 19 Shigatse/Lhasa
Visit Tashilumpo in the morning. Later, head back to Lhasa.

Day 20 Lhasa/Kathmandu
Transfer to the airport and fly to Kathmandu, Nepal. Enjoy some free time to get to know the city.

Day 21 Kathmandu
Depart at any time.