Learn English in the United Kingdom

Find English language lessons, beginners courses and schools in throughout the UK. Thousands of people travel to the UK and study English every year and you can book a course or search English language schools in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. You will get to experience the British way of life and culture, whilst seeing world famous sights in your spare time. English courses in the United Kingdom have been running for decades and by joining a course you will get to practise and improve your speaking, listening, pronunciation, vocabulary, reading, writing and grammar skills. There are also courses available to help you prepare for a Cambridge English or IELTS exam. Whether you want to learn from scratch or are looking to improve your conversational skills, there is no better time to learn.

 
 

English Language Courses in the UK

Find English language classes from the best language schools in the United Kingdom.

 

Guide to Learning English in the UK

  • Enrollment Times – Year round for most courses. Classes generally start on a Monday unless you are working with a private tutor.
  • Average Course Price – The number of hours per week generally defines the cost of a course. Also the longer you commit to a course, the less cost per week. On average classes can range from £180 to £320 weekly per course.
  • Accommodation – Some schools help arrange accommodation such as an apartment, hostel or homestay. If your school does not provide such services, a one-bedroom apartment generally costs between £1,000 to £1,600 per month. But remember, getting a roommate and a two-bedroom place will significantly lower that cost!
  • Student Visas Needed – Students within the EU and Switzerland do not need a visa to study in London. Other nationalities have separate requirements that are listed on the official UK visa website. If you do need a student visa, you must be enrolled in at least 15 hours of courses per week. Be sure the school you select can provide a Course Confirmation document, which you will need to provide to UK border authorities in order to obtain a student visa.

 

 

Choosing a Language Course

From novice to near expert, an in-person language course is a great choice as it kicks your learning into high gear. The UK has a wide array of school options to cater to every student’s needs.

 

 

Private vs. Group Lessons

Private lessons can be incredibly helpful for setting a strong foundation in learning English. One-on-one tutelage allows you to ask questions, go at your own pace and really focus on your areas of difficulty or interest. Consider ISIS Schools in Oxford, England for their individual tuition program. Classes are located in a refurbished building with modern classrooms located near the famous High Street.

Group lessons are helpful for the types of people who learn well in collaborative environments. You get the added benefit of interacting with other people who are going through the same process as you. This can lead to helpful study buddies and new friendships! English Language Centres in London, England is so confident in their program they guarantee you will reach your English speaking goals with them. They also organize student gatherings, field trips, pronunciation clinics, lectures and discussion groups!

 

 

Immersion

If you’re looking to gain a high level of proficiency in English either for a job or for university, an immersion course is the best way to go. Westbourne Academy in Westbourne, England has a fantastic 30-hour per week program. The Extra Intensive course begins nearly every other month. The focus of this program is to build up vocabulary and conversational skills to enhance fluency.

If you’re looking for an immersive course that begins year round, Bell English in Cambridge, England offers a 25-hour per week program that accepts new students every Monday. Class sizes are kept low and focus on raising communication capabilities between native and non-native English speakers.

 

 

Business

Improving your English skills can be useful for many areas of life and business is certainly one of them. English is the language of global business communication and learning it makes you a more capable, skilled employee. ISE Brighton in Brighton, England has evening classes so you are able to continue working or going to school during the day. Classes focus on both business writing and business communication.

 

 

Recommended English Language Courses in the UK

With their modern facilities, dedicated teachers and variety of program options, English Language Centres is a great choice for learning English in London, England. Students have the option to choose between regular group classes, immersion courses, private lessons and business English classes. They also provide a program for students over 30 years old so they are able to learn in an environment with likeminded individuals.

Establishing themselves as a family-owned operation, Victoria School of England, also in London, England, keeps their entire school size low at around 60 students. Even with the small size, they offer a wide variety of courses from general English courses to full immersion English. They are keen to assist students find accommodation for as low as £120 per week.

 

 

Popular Places to Learn English in the United Kingdom

You can join classroom courses in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, here are the top locations:

 

 

Other Locations

 

Banbury

  • ELT Banbury www.elt-banbury.com

 

Barnstaple

  • North Devon School of English www.ndse.co.uk

 

Bedford

  • Language Trainers www.languagetrainers.co.uk

 

Bath

  • Bath Academy www.bathacademy.co.uk/english.shtml
  • Bath Studio www.bathstudio.com
  • Canning www.canning.com
  • Kaplan International Colleges www.kaplaninternational.com

 

Birmingham

 

Blackpool

  • European Training and Recruitment www.etreco.co.uk

 

Bristol

 

Broadstairs, Kent

  • Broadstairs English Centre website
  • Hilderstone College www.hilderstone.ac.uk
  • Home English www.homeenglish.co.uk
  • Kingsgate College www.kingsgatecollege.co.uk
  • KSE Kent School of English www.kentschoolofenglish.com
  • LanguageUK www.languageuk.com

 

Brockenhurst Hampshire

  • Forest Language Academy www.forestlanguageacademy.com

 

Bury St Edmunds

  • BLS English www.burylanguageschool.co.uk
  • EIS English www.eis-english.co.uk
  • EU Academia of English eulanguagecourses.co.uk

 

Canterbury

  • CLT Canterbury Language Training www.canterburylanguagetraining.com
  • Concorde International www.concorde-int.com
  • Pilgrims www.pilgrims.co.uk
  • St Peter's School of English www.stpeters.co.uk
  • Stafford House School of English www.staffordhouse.com/en/canterbury
  • Warnborough College UK www.warnborough.ac.uk

 

Cheltenham

  • Communicaid www.communicaid.com
  • Inlingua Cheltenham www.inlingua-cheltenham.co.uk
  • ISP International Study Programmes website

 

Chester

  • English in Chester www.english-in-chester.co.uk

 

Chichester

  • Chichester Language College www.chichesterlanguagecollege.co.uk

 

Colchester

  • Colchester English Study Centre www.cesc.co.uk

 

Coventry

  • Language Trainers www.languagetrainers.co.uk
  • UIC Languages www.uiclanguages.com

 

Datchet, Berks.

  • Windsor English Language Centre www.windsorenglishlanguagecentre.co.uk

 

Dorking, Surrey

  • Coast to Coast Language Schools www.coastschools.com
  • Hurtwood House www.thesummerschool.com
  • Regent - Box Hill School www.regent.org.uk

 

East Grinstead, West Sussex

  • Greenfields English Language College gelc.org.uk

 

Exeter

  • SKOLA Exeter www.skola.co.uk/exeter
  • Exeter Academy www.exeteracademy.co.uk
  • Globe English www.globeenglish.co.uk
  • ISCA School of English www.iscaschool.com

 

Exmouth

  • Mountlands Language School www.mountlands.com

 

Farnham, Surrey

  • Sul International Summer School www.sul-schools.com
  • Surrey Language Centre www.slc-farnham.co.uk

 

Folkestone

  • AES Academy of English Studies www.aesfolkestone.co.uk
  • SES School of English Studies www.ses-folkestone.co.uk
  • Sussex Summer Schools www.sussexsummerschools.com
  • The Regency School of English www.regencyschool.co.uk

 

Forest Row, E Sussex

  • Greenfields School www.greenfieldsschool.com

 

Harrogate

  • Harrogate Language Academy www.hla.co.uk

 

Harrow

  • BABSSCo www.babssco.co.uk
  • MABM www.mabm.co.uk
  • Prestige Language School www.prestigelanguageschool.co.uk

 

Hassocks, W Sussex

  • Manor Courses www.manorcourses.co.uk

 

Hastings

  • Embassy CES www.embassyces.com
  • Hastings English Language Centre www.helc.co.uk
  • Homestay English UK www.homestayenglish.uk.com
  • Shane Global Language Centres www.shaneglobal.com

 

Jersey, Channel Islands

  • English 4 Business www.english4businessjersey.com
  • Good Language Skills www.goodlanguageskills.com
  • Highlands College www.highlands.ac.uk
  • St Brelade's College www.stbreladescollege.co.uk

 

Leamington Spa

  • Euro-Lang Communications www.eurolang-centre.co.uk
  • The Heart of England www.heartengland.co.uk
  • Warwickshire College www.warwickshire.ac.uk

 

Leeds

  • English2Adults www.english2adults.com
  • Leeds English Language School www.leedsenglish.com
  • Leeds Languages www.leedslanguages.co.uk
  • Leeds Language College www.leedslanguagecollege.com

 

Liverpool

 

Lydbury North, Shrops.

  • Lydbury English Centre www.lydbury.co.uk
  • Lymington, Hampshire
  • Heritage English www.heritage-english.com

 

Maidenhead

  • Directors Languages directorslanguages.co.uk
  • Language Link Up www.languagelinkup.co.uk

 

Malvern, Worcs.

  • The Abbey College www.abbeycollege.co.uk

 

Manchester

 

Margate

  • Margate Language Centre www.mlcengland.com
  • Rutland School of English www.rutlandenglish.com

 

Marlow, Bucks.

  • The Marlow Language Centre www.marlowlanguagecentre.com

 

New Malden, Surrey

  • Queens English Language School queensenglishlanguage.co.uk

 

Newark, Notts.

  • Optima Training www.optimatraining.co.uk

 

Newcastle-upon-Tyne

  • English Arch www.englisharch.co.uk
  • English in Newcastle www.englishinnewcastle.co.uk
  • International House Newcastle www.ihnewcastle.com
  • Newcastle Intl. School of English www.newcastle-ise.com

 

Norwich

  • ICS English www.icsenglish.com
  • NILE www.nile-elt.com
  • The English Experience www.englishexp.co.uk

 

Nottingham

  • New College Nottingham www.ncn.ac.uk/international
  • Nottingham English School www.nottinghamenglishschool.com
  • Nottingham Language Centre www.nlc.ntu.ac.uk

 

Paignton, Devon

  • The Devon School of English www.devonschool.co.uk
  • LAL Torbay www.lalgroup.com

 

Peterborough

  • PILA website
  • Peterborough Language School www.plschool.co.uk

 

Plymouth

  • Mayflower College www.maycoll.co.uk
  • Meridian School of English www.meridianenglish.com
  • Suzanne Sparrow www.sparrow.co.uk

 

Portishead

  • Step Up www.britisheducationaltours.com

 

Portsmouth

  • Language Specialists International www.lsi-international.co.uk
  • Meridian School of English www.meridianenglish.com
  • Portsmouth English Lang School www.portsmouthels.co.uk
  • Portsmouth Language College www.portsmouthlanguagecollege.co.uk

 

Preston, Lancashire

  • Talbott Language School talbottlanguageschool.co.uk/site

 

Ramsgate

  • Churchill House www.churchillhouse.co.uk
  • Small Talk School of English www.smalltalkschool.co.uk

 

Reading

  • ELC London Street www.elclondonstreet.co.uk
  • Eurospeak www.eurospeak.org.uk
  • Parkland Intl Language School www.parklang.co.uk

 

Rydal, Cumbria

  • Nab Cottage www.nabcottage.com

 

Salisbury

  • Kaplan International Colleges www.kaplaninternational.com

 

Scarborough

  • Anglolang www.anglolang.co.uk
  • Scarborough Intl School Of English www.english-language.uk.com

 

Sheffield

  • The University of Sheffield ELTC www.sheffield.ac.uk/eltc

 

Sherbourne, Dorset

  • Exclusively English www.exclusivelyenglish.co.uk

 

Shrewsbury, Shropshire

  • Severnvale Academy www.severnvale.co.uk

 

Sidmouth, Devon

  • Sidmouth International School www.sidmouth-int.co.uk
  • Skipton, North Yorkshire
  • englishimmersion www.englishimmersion.co.uk

 

Southampton

  • Homelingua www.homelingua.com
  • Lewis School of English www.lewis-school.co.uk

 

Stratford-upon-Avon

  • Linguarama www.linguarama.com
  • Oxford House College www.oxfordhousecollege.co.uk/stratford
  • SHF Language Courses www.stratfordhostfamilies.com
  • Stratford Language Academy www.stratfordlanguageacademy.co.uk

 

Swanage, Dorset

  • Harrow House International College www.harrowhouse.com

 

Taunton

  • Academic Summer www.academicsummer.co.uk

 

Tavistock, Devon

  • West Devon English Lang School www.west-devon-english-language-school.com

 

Torquay

  • International House www.english-riviera.co.uk
  • Kaplan International Colleges www.kaplaninternational.com
  • Riviera English School www.riviera-english-school.com
  • Torquay International School www.tisenglish.co.uk

 

Totnes, Devon

  • Language in Totnes www.totenglish.co.uk

 

Tunbridge Wells

  • Cicero Languages International www.cicero.co.uk

 

Warwick

  • Ceran UK www.ceran.com

 

Westgate-on-Sea

  • London House School of English www.london-house.co.uk

 

Weymouth

  • Weymouth English Centre www.weymouthenglishcentre.com

 

Whitby

  • Functional English www.funenglish.co.uk

 

Windsor

  • Berlitz Windsor www.berlitz.co.uk/windsor

 

Winchester

  • Winchester Language College www.winchesterlanguagecollege.co.uk

 

Woking

  • Harven School of English www.harven.co.uk

 

Worcester

  • Kingsway English Centre www.kingsway-english.com

 

Worthing

  • CES Worthing www.swandean.co.uk/worthing
  • St. George's School of English www.sg-cc.com

 

York

  • English in York www.english-in-york.co.uk
  • Melton College www.melton-college.co.uk
  • Stafford House www.staffordhouse.co.uk
  • English Language Centre York www.experienceenglish.com/welcome-elc-york
  • York English School www.yesyork.com
 

 

English Language Schools in Scotland

Aberdeen

  • Easy English www.easyenglishaberdeen.co.uk
  • International House Aberdeen www.ihaberdeen.com
  • Language Trainers www.languagetrainers.co.uk
  • Uni of Aberdeen Language Centre www.abdn.ac.uk/languagecentre

 

Dundee, Scotland

  • Dundee Language Services www.dundeelanguageservices.co.uk
  • Tayside Language Centre taysidelanguagecentre.co.uk

 

Edinburgh

  • Alba English School www.albaenglish.co.uk
  • Basil Paterson www.basilpaterson.co.uk
  • Berlitz Edinburgh www.berlitzedinburgh.co.uk
  • Caledonian Language School www.caledonianlanguageschool.com
  • Capital School of English www.capital-school-of-english.co.uk
  • ECS Scotland www.ecsscotland.co.uk
  • Edinburgh Language Centre www.experienceenglish.com/our-schools/edinburgh
  • Edinburgh School of English www.edinburghschoolofenglish.com
  • ELTC, University of Edinburgh website
  • Hamilton School of English www.hamiltonschool.co.uk
  • Kaplan International www.kaplaninternational.com
  • Regent www.regent.org.uk
  • Stafford House www.staffordhouse.co.uk
  • The Arch School of English www.archenglish.com
  • Wallace College www.wallacecollege.co.uk

 

Glasgow

  • GISOEL www.gisoel.com
  • Language Within www.languagewithin.com
  • Live Language www.live-language.com
  • St Andrews College www.standrewscollege.com
  • West George College www.wgcollege.co.uk

 

Oban, Scotland

  • Highland Dimensions www.highland-dimensions.com

 

St Andrews, Scotland

  • St Andrew's Summer School www.summerschoolscotland.com
  • University of St Andrews access-languages.eu

 

English Language Schools in Wales

Aberystwyth

  • Aberystwyth University www.aber.ac.uk
  • The Language Machine www.thelanguagemachine.co.uk

 

Cardiff

  • Albany Language School www.albanylanguages.co.uk
  • Cardiff School of Modern English www.cardiffsme.co.uk
  • CMLA www.cmla.uk.com
  • CELT www.celt.co.uk
  • inlingua Cardiff www.inlingua-cardiff.co.uk
  • Languages Direct www.languagesdirect.co.uk
  • WE Bridge International www.we-bridge.co.uk

 

Conwy

  • CMA English www.cmaenglish.com

 

Llandudno

  • Trinity Language Centre www.trinitylc.co.uk

 

Montgomery

  • Park House Training www.parkhousetraining.com

 

Swansea

  • City School of Languages www.cityschooloflanguages.co.uk
  • Reivers Education www.reivers-education.co.uk

 

Trefriw

  • CMA English cmaenglish.com

 

 

English Language Schools in Northern Ireland

 

Belfast, N Ireland

  • BiS Belfast International School www.bisenglish.com
  • International House Belfast www.ihbelfast.com
  • MovingOn Courses www.movingoncourses.com
  • Queen's University www.qub.ac.uk/lc

 

Derry

  • Foyle Language School www.foyle.eu
  • The NW Academy www.northwestacademy.net

 

 

Help / Advice

If you need any help arranging an English course in the UK please get in touch.

 

 

Feedback / Testimonials

If you have ever been to learn English in the UK and would like to add a review, write about your experience or share any recommendations please contact us.

 

 

Advertise Here

If you represent a language school in the UK and would like to promote courses here please contact us.

 

 

Related Pages