Learn English in London

London is capital of England and the United Kingdom and one of our top recommended destination to learn English overseas. London is a very historic city dating back to the time of the Romans. When studying English in London you will get to see historic places and learn more about the history including key events like the English Renaissance, the Industrial Revolution, and the Gothic Revival. Today, modern day London is a thriving city both culturally and economically and thousands of students choose to study English here every year. Search English language courses and schools in London. 

 
 

English Language Courses in London

Find English language courses from the best language schools in London.

Learn English in London

Guide to Learning English in London

Ever wanted to learn or improve your Engish language skills? Book a course and study English in London. We have some fantastic opportunities where you can contact English schools throughout the city who offer beginners classroom courses including cheap and low cost English language courses. London is one of the most popular destinations in the world to learn English, this is a highly modern city - one of the most developed in the world with a facsinating history. 

There are lots of language schools in London which offer excellent quality English language courses at affordable rates in Central and West London. Courses are divided into three categories.

  • General English Courses are for people of all levels of English, from complete beginners to near-native speakers
  • Premium English Courses are brimming with added benefits so that you can really make the most of learning English in one of the greatest cities in the world
  • English Exam Preparation Courses will give you the skills that you need to do really well in Cambridge English exams

 

 

List of English Language Schools in London

  • Active Learning www.active-learning.co.uk
  • Anglophiles www.anglophiles.com/uk
  • Angloschool www.lingolex.com/anglo
  • Ariane Languages www.ariane-languages.co.uk
  • Avalon School www.avalonschool.co.uk
  • Bell www.bell-centres.com
  • Bloomsbury International www.bloomsbury-international.com
  • British Study Centres www.british-study.com
  • Burlington School www.burlington-school.co.uk
  • BLT Business Language Training www.bltonline.co.uk
  • Cactus Language www.cactuslanguagetraining.com
  • Canning www.canning.co.uk
  • Central School of English www.centralschool.co.uk
  • City Language School citylanguages.co
  • CL English www.clenglish.co.uk
  • Club Class www.clubclass.com/london
  • Communicaid www.communicaid.com
  • Communicate Well www.communicatewell.co.uk
  • Crest Schools of English www.crestschools.com
  • Cultured Learning www.culturedlearning.com
  • Delfin English School www.delfinschool.com/london
  • Discovery Summer www.discoverysummer.co.uk
  • East London School of English www.elsenglish.com
  • Edgware Academy www.edgwareacademy.co.uk
  • Educa Tutors www.educalearningcentre.co.uk/en
  • Edwards Language School www.edwards-language-school.co.uk
  • EF London www.ef.co.uk
  • Elegant International College www.eicollege.co.uk
  • Elite Learning www.el-languages.com
  • ELT London www.eltlondon.com
  • Embassy CES www.embassyces.com
  • English Time www.englishtime.com
  • Eurocentres www.eurocentres.com
  • Exell www.exellenglish.co.uk
  • Eynsford College www.eynsfordcollege.co.uk
  • Flexilearning Centre www.flexilearningcentre.co.uk
  • Frances King School of English www.francesking.co.uk
  • Hampstead School of English www.experience...hampstead-school-of-english
  • HC London www.hc-london.com
  • Home Language International www.homelang.org
  • InterActions Language Academy www.ilatc.com
  • International House London www.ihlondon.com
  • Intuition Languages www.intuitionlang.com
  • ISIS Greenwich www.isisgroup.co.uk
  • Islington Centre for English www.letslearnenglish.org
  • Kaplan International www.kaplaninternational.com
  • King Street College www.kingstreet.co.uk
  • King's College London ELC www.kcl.ac.uk/elc
  • Kingsley School of English www.kingsleyschoolofenglish.co.uk
  • LAL London www.lalschools.com/en/schools/lal-london
  • Language in London www.camdencollege.com
  • Language Link London www.languagelink.co.uk
  • Language Results www.languageresults.co.uk
  • Language Services Direct www.languageservicesdirect.co.uk
  • Lincoln College www.lincolncollegelondon.com
  • Linguaenglish London www.linguaenglishlondon.com
  • LSB Language Studies for Business www.lsb-online.co.uk
  • LSBF School of English www.schoolofenglish.org.uk
  • LSI Language Studies International www.lsi.edu
  • Learn Fast With Us www.learnfastwith.us
  • LSSE www.lsse.ac.uk
  • Lexis School of Languages www.lexislondon.com
  • Linguarama www.linguarama.com
  • Linguacentre www.linguacentre.co.uk
  • Lingua Diversa Group www.linguadiversa.co.uk
  • Link School www.linkschool.co.uk
  • Live In Languages www.liveinlanguages.com
  • London Language Centre www.llcentre.com
  • LMC London Meridian College www.meridiancollege.co.uk
  • LSC London Study Centre www.lscuk.co.uk
  • LSI London Hampstead www.lsi.edu/en/hampstead.html
  • Malvern House www.malvernhouse.com
  • Mayfair School of English www.mayfairschool.co.uk
  • Millennium City Academy millenniumcityacademy.millennium-city-academy.com
  • Milner School of English www.milnerschool.co.uk
  • North London School of English nlsenglish.co.uk
  • Notting Hill College www.nottinghillcollege.co.uk
  • OISE www.oise.com
  • One to One English www.onetooneenglish.co.uk
  • Our World English Schools www.ourworldenglish.com
  • Oxford House College www.oxfordhousecollege.co.uk/london
  • PLUS www.plus-ed.com
  • Professional Language Solutions www.langsols.com
  • Purley Language College www.purleycollege.com
  • Regent London www.regent.org.uk
  • RLI Language Services www.language-tuition.co.uk
  • Rose of York www.roseofyork.co.uk
  • Select English www.selectenglish.com
  • Sels College London www.sels.co.uk
  • Shakespeare College London www.shakespearelondon.co.uk
  • Shane Global Language Centres www.shaneglobal.com
  • Skola www.skola.co.uk
  • SGI St George International www.stgeorges.co.uk
  • South Chelsea International College www.scic.org.uk
  • Speak Up London www.speakuplondon.com
  • St Giles International www.stgiles-international.com
  • St John's Wood School of English www.sjw-school.co.uk
  • Stafford House www.staffordhouse.co.uk
  • Stanton School of English www.stanton-school.co.uk
  • CES Wimbledon www.swandean.co.uk/wimbledon
  • The English Language Academy www.english-english.co.uk
  • The English Studio englishstudio.com
  • The London School of English www.londonschool.com
  • Tti School of English www.ttischool.com
  • Twin English Centres www.englishcentres.co.uk
  • Twin Summer Centres www.twinsummercentres.com
  • UIC London www.uiclondon.com
  • Unique Languages www.uniquelanguages.com
  • UAL Language Centre www.arts.ac.uk/languagecentre
  • Victoria School of English www.victoriaschool.co.uk
  • Wilson College www.wilsoncollege.co.uk
  • Wimbledon School of English www.wimbledon-school.ac.uk
  • Language Upon Thames www.languageuponthames.co.uk

 

Richmond

  • Richmond Language Training www.rlt.co.uk

 

Kingston

  • i12Learn English School www.i12learn.co.uk

 

Croydon

  • Royal English International www.reimurcia.com

 

 

Location of English Schools in London

Most schools are located in Central London but there are also more rural settings like Highgate, Richmond and Wimbledon.

 

 

Types of English Courses in London

There are a wide range of English courses for the avilable for beginners and more advanced levels including:

  • Intensive General English courses
  • Cambridge Examination Preparation Courses
  • IELST and TOEFL Preparation
  • International Semester English courses
  • Business English programs
  • English Plus Work Experience programs
  • English for Teachers of English
  • CELTA and TEFL courses
  • Summer Family Stay Program for parents and children 
  • Platinum Business and General English courses for Executives and Professionals

 

 

How to Choose an English Language School in London

With so many English language schools located in London you might want to read reviews and also check accreditations and affiliations, most schools are:

  • Accredited by the British Council
  • Accredited by the English UK

 

 

Language School Facilities

English Language Schools in London offer a large range of services, most include:

  • Welcoming reception area
  • Computer use and free wifi
  • Self-study facilities after class
  • Social events
  • Help and advice service
  • Textbooks
  • Cafes
  • Bookshop
  • Private study area with a range of reference and reading material
  • Modern classrooms
  • Interactive whiteboard facilites, televisions, film projectors and DVD players

 

 

English Language Summer Study Programs

Some companies offer summer school programs for kids and teenagers usually aged from 3 to 17 years of age during June, July and August. London English summer school are usually set up in places like Regent's Park, Hyde Park and Gloucester Gate. The aim of these programs is to allow children and teenagers to learn or improve their English language skills through an educational and fun environment. Several activities are organised and there are more classes as well as English like art, drama, geography, maths and science. These programs are a great way to mix with students from all over the world, see lots of places in the spare time and learn a lot.

 

 

Amount of Lessons Per Week

This really depends on the course you select, generally there are once daily up to all day lessons available. Some schools offer 15, 20 or 28 lessons per week.

 

 

History of London

Situated on the River Thames, London is located in south-east England. The city used to be walled during the original Roman occupation, encompassing a square mile of land. The city has expanded over the centuries and the name now includes all of the surrounding towns, villages and even one county, Middlesex. London now stretches down to the lower Thames valley. Even though it is a city with densely populated areas that are typical of a city in modern times, it still retains large swathes of green parkland and open spaces. The history of London stretches further back than the Roman occupation of England. There has been a settlement in the area since the Bronze Age, with evidence uncovered of a Bronze Age settlement as well as a Celtic one. Named Londinium by the Romans, the location for the city as we know today was established by the Romans when they conquered Britain in the year 43AD.

Visitors to London can still see some Roman remains scattered throughout the city. When the Romans left Britain, London once again grew in size and stature under the Anglo Saxons and the Normans, establishing itself as a major trading city of the day. William the Conqueror moved the royal capital of the country from Winchester to London in 1066 when he was crowned King of England, and he added the famous Tower of London to the landscape during his reign. Understanding some of the history of London helps visitors appreciate some of the sights you can look forward to seeing when visiting London. The city has continued to grow into the cultural metropolis it is today ever since the conquest of William the Conqueror, even surviving the Blitz during World War II and the Great Fire of London in 1666. It is a city that is vibrant and full of life, yet teeming with a history that is certainly palpable everywhere you go.

Travel can bring you closer to understanding the history of London first hand and allow you to visit sights that have been associated with the royal family for as long as the city has been in existence. From Buckingham Palace to Kew Palace, the Royal Albert Hall to Kensington Palace, you will be able to see where the royalty has lived, laughed, loved and died throughout their long tenure as the heads of state in Britain. When you get tired of touring all of the royal establishments, you can continue your holiday in London by visiting a variety of museums, monuments and other historical sites that the city is famous for. There are also numerous pubs, clubs, galleries, parks and theatres to enjoy. It is a city that truly offers something for everyone, no matter their age or inclination. It is interesting to note that London is actually two cities rolled into one. There is the commercial capital of England, known as the City of London, which offers tourists amazing sightseeing venues such as St Paul’s Cathedral and London Bridge. The seat of government in London is found a few minutes up the River Thames at Westminster. This is actually one of the 32 districts that are found in the city. Westminster accommodates Westminster Abbey, the Houses of Parliament, Whitehall and Buckingham Palace. If you hear a Londoner reference The Strand, they are talking about the riverbank road that has historically linked the City of London and Westminster. 

First-time visitors to London may get a bit confused when they hear locals refer to the East End and the West End. London grew in both directions with the land to the west of the City of London (the areas of Soho and Covent Garden) being used for building, and the lands to the east built upon with docks, industry and cheap housing. Because of the flow of the river from west to east, the West End is the area of London that is up-market and fancy. The East End is where people went to earn a living. If you are looking for the West End, you will find it west of Covent Garden, extending as far as Bond Street but predominantly centering on Leicester Square.

 

 

10 London Attractions to Visit in Your Spare Time

  • Thames River Cruise in London
  • The Tower of London
  • Westminster Abbey
  • The London Bridge Experience
  • Windsor Castle
  • St Paul's Cathedral
  • Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
  • The London Tower Bridge
  • Hampton Court Palace
  • Churchill War Rooms

 

 

Help / Advice

If you need any help arranging a English course in London please get in touch.

 

 

London English Language School Reviews

If you have ever joined an English course in London and would like to write about your experience, review a company or share any recommendations please contact us.

 

 

Advertise Here

If you offer English courses in London and would like to be featured here please contact us.